Loading Events

« All Events

Shawn Carpenter

August 8 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Magic City Books is thrilled to welcome Oklahoma author Shawn Carpenter for a free, in-store event to celebrate the release of his debut novel, The Price of Redemption on Thursday August 8 at 7:00 pm.

The Price of Redemption is a female-led swashbuckling fantasy following powerful sorceress and sea captain Marquese Enid d’Tancreville as she is forced on the run where she meets a vast cast of characters perfect for fans of Patrick O’Brian’s beloved Master and Commander series.

Shawn Carpenter will join us to discuss his book, the first in a planned “Tides of Magic” series and will sign copies of his book purchased at Magic City Books.

The Price of Redemption will be published on July 9 and available from Magic City Books starting then. It is also available to order online at: https://magiccitybooks.square.site/product/the-price-of-redemption/2356.

About The Price of Redemption

A debut swashbuckling fantasy following a powerful sorceress, the Marquese Enid d’Tancreville, as she is forced on the run where she meets a vast cast of characters including a young sea captain who has need of a sea mage. Perfect for fans of Patrick O’Brian, Naomi Novik, and Brian McClellan.

Despite her powerful magic, Marquese Enid d’Tancreville must flee her homeland to escape death at the hands of the Theocratic Revolution. When a Theocratic warship overtakes the ship bearing her to safety, Enid is spared capture by the timely intervention of the Albion frigate Alarum, under the commend of Commander Rue Nath.

These circumstances make for an odd alliance, and Enid finds herself replacing the Alarum’s recently slain sea mage. Now an officer under Nath’s command, Enid is thrust into a strange maritime world full of confusing customs, duties, and language. Worse, as she soon discovers, the threat of revolution is not confined to shore.

Shawn Carpenter is a new author in an old skin. His colorful work history includes cowboy, airman, chicken guard, game designer, and corporate cog. Ships and the sea have enamored Shawn since his childhood in tragically landlocked Oklahoma, where, after peregrinations to all corners of the US, he now lives with his amazing wife, two sons, three dogs, and a cat. His three adult daughters keep tabs on his antics from a safe distance.

Details

Date:
August 8
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Organizer

Magic City Books

Venue

Magic City Books
221 E. Archer St.
Tulsa, OK 74103 United States
+ Google Map